Tuesday, June 8, 2010

BLOG TOUR: The Art of Devotion by Samantha Bruce-Benjamin





THE ART OF DEVOTION by Samantha Bruce-Benjamin is a haunting debut novel in the tradition of Rebecca and Atonement. Filled with secrets, love, betrayal, obsession, and deceit, THE ART OF DEVOTION is a beautifully rendered window into one family’s dark and complex history. Told from the shifting points of view of four women, the story explores the psychological effects and emotional damage within a family led by a matriarch who was tragically widowed too soon; the fragile, almost inappropriately close relationship between her son and daughter; and the reckless deceit of an outsider. In a recent review, the Romantic Times called the writing “lyrical, reminscent of old gothic romances

In the tradition of bestselling authors Ian McEwan and Anne Enright, Samantha Bruce-Benjamin’s brilliant and timeless debut unveils the dark side of human nature as four women share the poignant tale of love, obsession, and ultimate betrayal that binds them forever.

Have we all not wished to keep forever the one person we love the most?

The secluded beaches of a sun-drenched Mediterranean island are the perfect playground for young Sebastian and Adora. Emotionally adrift from their mother, Adora shelters her sensitive older brother from the cruelties of the world. Sophie does not question her children’s intense need for one another until it’s too late. Her beloved son’s affections belong to Adora, and when he drowns in the sea, she has no one else to blame.

Still heartbroken years later, Adora fills her emptiness with Genevieve, the precocious young daughter of her husband’s business associate and his jealous wife, Miranda. Thrilled to be invited into the beautiful and enigmatic Adora’s world, the child idolizes her during their summers together. Yet, as the years progress, Genevieve begins to suspect their charmed existence is nothing more than a carefully crafted illusion. Soon, she too is ensnared in a web of lies.

Stunningly told in the tragic voices of four women whose lives are fatefully entangled, The Art of Devotion is evocative and haunting, a story of deceit, jealousy, and the heartbreaking reality of love’s true power.


Book Club Guide

My Thoughts - My poor book club, I come across so many great books  I bombard them with suggestions, adding this one to my list too. If you love historical fiction I promise you will adore this book. It is beautifully written and you follow the lives of four narrators who all have their own secrets. I loved, despised, and felt sorry for the characters. Once I started I couldn't put the book down, I don't think you'll be able to either!!




Disclaimer - I received this book for my honest opinion, no other compensation was received.

2 comments:

Samantha said...

I cannot thank you enough for reading my novel and for this beautiful review. I am so thrilled that you enjoyed it and I do so hope you can have a wonderful discussion at your book club, if you do choose it! I'd be happy to discuss it via google chat or skype. Log on to my website www.samanthabrucebenjamin.com to find out how we could connect. I am so happy to have read your review and cannot thank you enough! Very best wishes, Samantha

Tracy said...

This looks like a really great book! Definitely a wonderful review!